Infographic: Final Product

show

I have completed my final draft of the poster. After going through various changes I’m fairly happy with the result As you can see I have added the timeline, I based this off an oscilloscope . Something that has a sci-fi kind of feel to it but is also an apparatus for measuring data which fits well with a timeline. It counts frequency of strikes since 1940 to 2014. I have also gotten rid of the constellation background and dimmed the stars slightly. I felt it overpowered the center of the poster and I thought the negative space with the the constellations absent looks better and draws your eye more to the data. I chose to keep a few of the stars because it creates the retro futuristic space feel that I wanted the poster to have. I have also added thickened and red lines to display the largest 7/10 craters on earth.

Critique:

The main (and most prominent) problem with this infographic is that there is only one view of the globe. Therefore I had to miss some of the data out, as I could not have a 3D object. This could be solved with a f;at map, but I felt it was necessary to have a globe to get the right feel to the poster and get across the data easily. One idea I did have was to create a web page with an interactive infographic. I could create a spinning globe with CSS 3 animaiton and create a slider which represents the timeline. When dragged you’ll be able to see each strike happen in the animaiton above. Essentially it is a sequenced CSS animation which is controlled with the movement of the slider.

Looking back at my initial sketch I think I have done well to stick to my initial concept, making changes where necessary. I also think I have displayed the data well. It is immediatelyapparent that the lines represent meteor strikes. However the colour of which is more ambiguous. This is why I have created a small and simple key at the bottom to tell the viewer what they mean.

The overall design I am pleased with. I think it does retain some of the retro futuristic design cues i wished to use, but also incorperates some modern ttechniques For example the multiple overlapping lines would have been difficult for an illustrator to draw but is quite feasible in a modern Illustrator software.

However I feel perhaps I could have done something more radical with the globe. Perhaps render a low-poly 3d globe in Cinema 4D and trace it into vector graphics. This is something I could consider for a future project.

Have I managed to make this infographic both visually appealing and easy to understand?

I am pleased with how the infographic look. After asking a few of my peers they agree however I did have to explain the ‘Old Fashioned’ look to a few. But it was appreciated. I wanted to depart from the current flat design trend, and focus on a trend that really excites me. My peers also found it fairly easy to understand. Apart from the red lines. Which is why I eventually added the key.

To summurise I am pleased with the outcome, and there are a very few changes I would make if I did this again (I would honestly try something completely different If I did). I could have made this task a little easier for myself if I had not decided to render the outer glow of the globe in vector as it caused alot of slowing down issues if I needed to change something. It should be easy to understand and Is something that I’d like to put on my wall as a design piece aswell as an informative datasheet.

meteorites

Leave a Reply

