Infographic design process 2

Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 00.10.39

I begun by creating a new A2 document in Illustrator CC. I decided to use Illustrator for creating my vector graphic because I am relatively familiar with it already. The first object I created was the globe. I did so by getting a picture of the earth (with the portion of land that I wanted to show) and creating an circle of the same size. After that I used the pen tool to trace the landforms in a relatively accurate way, however maintaining a kind of low-poly feel that I was look to do initially. My first plan was to create a 3D low-poly globe in Cinema 4D, but the task was to use vector graphics only. After creating the land I zoomed in to make sure everything fit. Making minor changes using the Direct Select tool (A) which allows you to select singular anchor points of your vector shape.

Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 00.05.31 Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 00.05.48

This allowed me to make minor changes, like making sure the land fit inside the circle I had previously made.

Leave a Reply

